Home » Marrakech International Film Festival Unveils Jury Makeup for 20th Edition

Marrakech International Film Festival Unveils Jury Makeup for 20th Edition

The Marrakech International Film Festival unveiled, on Friday, the jury members for its 20th edition, scheduled from November 24 to December 2, 2023.

Nine exceptional and globally renowned personalities make up the jury for the 20th edition, with its presidency to be held by the Oscar-winning U.S. actress and producer Jessica Chastain, according to a statement from the Festival Foundation.

The statement also notes that alongside her, there will be Iranian actress Zar Amir, French actress Camille Cottin, Australian actor and filmmaker Joel Edgerton, British filmmaker Joanna Hogg, U.S. filmmaker Dee Rees, Swedish-Egyptian filmmaker Tarek Saleh, Swedish actor Alexander Skarsgård, and French-Moroccan writer Leïla Slimani.

“Together, they will leverage their uniqueness and expertise to judge the 14 films in the official competition,” the statement adds, pointing out that the jury of this 20th edition, representing 8 countries and 5 different continents, reflects the International Film Festival of Marrakech, an event that celebrates the diversity of global cinematic creativity.

The jury will announce its awards during the closing ceremony of the Festival, scheduled for Saturday, December 2, 2023. They will award the Golden Star to one of the 14 first and second feature films in the competition, dedicated to discovering filmmakers from around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *